Google has announced a new information storage policy. If you do not check your Google Drive files from time to time, they may be deleted. Google is trying to get rid of long-abandoned accounts in this way.
“We are proposing a new consumer account policy. This applies to those who have inactive information about Gmail, Drive (including Google Docs, Sheets, Slides, Drawings, Forms and Jamboard files). This is all done to better serve our common interests. “If Google has been inactive for two years, Google may delete the information uploaded there.”
Note that Google does not currently plan to delete your files. He gives us time and warns us that we have a deadline of June 1, 2021.
Google says it will look for forgotten files carefully and only then will they be deleted. On the other hand, fortunately, there is a way provided by Google to prevent the loss of information that is important to us.
“The easiest way to keep your data active is to periodically visit Gmail, Google Photos, and Google Drive (and / or apps like Google Docs, Sheets, Slides, Drawings, Forms, Jamboard, and Sites) online or through Google’s official app.” , – explains Google. Note, we are talking about the “official Google application”.
Google also says it will warn users to “use email and notifications” before deleting their documents. A warning will be given, “at least three months in advance.”
With all of this, Google is telling us that it no longer wants to store our information forever. Therefore, make sure that you return the required files often, otherwise Google may delete the “unnecessary” information itself.